I’m Legal!!!

It’s official. I’m official! We completed our Pareja de Hecho process yesterday with a 5 minute meeting at the office in Santander. We sat down with some guy who promptly began speaking in ultra-fast Spanish, who slowed for a second after he looked at me and said “you understand me, right?” and C said “if you speak a little slower…” – but then forgot and sped up again. I think he was rattling off the necessary legal mumbo jumbo, then we both signed a paper and voila. That’s it! They’ll mail the official certificate to us, and then I can do things like get a tax ID to work, etc. But for now, no one is going to detain me at customs anywhere (not like I would have had a problem returning for Christmas because I still haven’t exceeded the 90 days in 6 months thing, but getting out and back in without it the next time could have posed a problem) unless I try to smuggle ham into the US or something like that.

Something about the whole thing makes me giggle, I had to bite the inside of my mouth when he was talking. But anyhoo, that’s that!

Pareja de Hecho! I'm so cheesy. Teeheeheehee....

And we finally have ALL our Ikea purchases finished and installed, and we even (GASP) went so far as to put up a few pictures on the wall. It’s actually looking like people live here now. Amazing!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Legal!!!

  1. Stephanie says:

    Woot woot! Congrats ­čśë

  2. Carolyn says:

    Hooray!!!! Congrats .. !! Lets see some pics of the new digs.. xoxoxo

  3. Leo says:

    muy guapos!!! Congratulations!!

  4. Tiffany says:

    Congratulations!!! I am also an American girl looking to do the pareja de hecho too. Can I ask you how you solved the empadronmiento step? What did you use to prove that you have been together for 12 months! I live in Madrid so maybe the requirements are different. Hope you can help me answer the question. Congrats againn! It must be a great relief to be legalized!!!

Leave a Reply

