And we’re off! Almost.

I remembered one more thing that happened the other night that I neglected to post about. We saw the mailman at the pizzeria, and he proceeded to tell us not only that we had mail, but who mine was FROM!! Dear God. Cracks me up every single time, I don’t know if it will ever get old. But thank you, thank you, thank you for the Christmas cards. I HEART Christmas cards. They made me so very happy.

I channeled my mother today and spent a large part of my day cleaning the house. When I was younger and we were leaving for vacation, she would always insist on leaving everything totally clean. And of course, being younger, I thought that was about the stupidest thing, like, EVER. I mean we weren’t going to BE there. I was convinced that she was doing it for the same reason that your Grandma might tell you to make sure you are wearing clean underwear. Just in case. Like just in case one of the neighbors had to come over and check out something at the house. But that wasn’t it at all. It was because, as I found out later in life, it is really rather suckypants to come back after you’ve been gone for a while and find that the trash smells, your pile of dirty clothes is still waiting for you (in addition to the laundry you now have from your trip), and that the magical little elves did not show up while you were gone to clean the bathrooms. It’s just nicer to come home to a clean house.

Anyhoo. As long as the Iberia pilots don’t go on strike tomorrow (I just got an email from Orbitz saying they are planning to strike on the 19th and the 29th…ut oh), we’ll be off bright and early. And therefore, I’ll probably be taking a blogging break until we get back.  I’m so excited to see my friends and family. And Target.

One of my favorite pics, I think I have one of these for every year of my life until my parents went and bought a fake tree. 🙂 Merry Christmas.

Dad watering the tree. Teeheeheeheehee...

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And we’re off! Almost.

  1. Help! The tree is eating Dad! I can’t wait to see mi familia in just 12 days.

Leave a Reply

