A Saturday Drive

We hit the road this morning for a little exploring through the western part of Cantabria, about a 150 mile loop up into the snowy mountains. Hm, where should I begin. OH, I know.

Driving through one of the first little towns (Quintanilla) we saw this:

Yep, that would be a freshly dead pig.

The good thing is that we didn’t see them actually kill it, and it was already drained of most of the blood. But yes, we stopped and watched them…uh…clean it out. I realize you may be like “ewwwwwwwwwwwww,” because at first I was wincing a little, but really, it’s no different than dissecting a pig in high school science. I like watching surgeries, this was sorta just like that. Fascinating. They take all the stuff out that isn’t meat, that either they aren’t going to use, OR that they will use somehow, and then I imagine it goes off to the butcher.

Here's the exit shot. I spared you any of the in-between details. But just so you know, that blue bucket is full of pig intestines. Teeeheheeheeheee....

Moving on. We stopped for lunch in the town of Tudanca. We were the only ones eating in the restaurant and it was so cold in there we could literally see our breath. These mountain people are waaaaaay heartier than me. I could barely feel my feet. Anyhoo, we ran into stuff like this along the way.

Cows on the highway. Makes me laugh every time, I just don't know when it's going to get old.

Some people walk their dogs, other people walk their horses. The guy on the left is apparently the well behaved one because he's just trotting along freely.

As we got higher and higher up, we found ourselves in the middle of the snow. Not a ton, but just enough to coat the trees and make everything really beautiful.

I love this because you can see how the snow just sort of fades away.

Same view, but I love those fences so much. I think I take pictures of anything that has one of those. There could be a fenced in pile of poo and I'd probably snap a shot.

Self portrait time!

And on an unrelated note, I’m proud to say I started this week on two of my New Years resolutions – I made it to the gym all week AND I got back to blogging about my baking experiments. Yikes, I just realized how contradictory those things are.

Tomorrow, snowshoeing. We’ll see how that goes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

