Two Winter Outings

Over the last week or so, we took a couple of lil excursions.

The first was following a stop in Santander for what ultimately proved to be a bit of unsuccessful Christmas shopping. But oh well. We ate lunch there and then took a little drive up into the mountains. I’d be lying if I said I knew exactly where we went, and being that C is not here to confirm, I’ll hold off on taking my best although uneducated guess. In any case, it was beautiful. And cold.

A little nearly unchartered territory. We couldn't drive all the way up because after a while, there were no more tracks in the road.

A little nearly unchartered territory. We couldn’t drive all the way up because after a while, there were no more tracks in the road.

The view from an overlook. I just love how you can see how the snow fades away in the distance.

The view from an overlook. I just love how you can see how the snow fades away in the distance.

My fave shot. All of these were taking with C's iPhone, by the way. It was a spur of the moment drive and neither of us had our cameras. Not too shabby, huh?

My fave shot. All of these were taking with C’s iPhone, by the way. It was a spur of the moment drive and neither of us had our cameras. Not too shabby, huh?

A hundred times now I've seen cows crossing the road. But this was my firs encounter with a herd of goats.

A hundred times now I’ve seen cows crossing the road. But this was my first encounter with a herd of goats.

Then last weekend, our friend Telmo played gracious host and a group of us went to visit his family’s farm. They have over 100 cows and use the technology Telmo actually sells, a system for milking cows that is, from a technological standpoint, really, really amazing.

So, they start here. And the cows come in at will, when they are ready to be milked. There is some super scrumptious food in there too, which is an extra bonus.

So, they start here. And the cows come in at will, when they are ready to be milked. There is some super scrumptious food in there too, which is an extra bonus.

So, the machine reads a chip they are wearing around their neck, knows who they are, and the thing they stand on weighs them. This big arm thing swoops in, automatically finds their milkers, and starts milking. If they are not ready to milk (i.e. if they just wanted some of the good food), the food box does not open and the arm does not sweep in and the cow leaves. SO SMART.

So, the machine reads a chip they are wearing around their neck, knows who they are, and the thing they stand on weighs them. This big arm thing swoops in, automatically finds their milkers, and starts milking. If they are not ready to milk (i.e. if they just wanted some of the good food), the machine knows – the food box does not open and the arm does not sweep in and the cow leaves. SO SMART.

And this little computer tells you everything you want to know. The whole thing runs 24 hours a day, the cows can come and go whenever they want. Happy, chilled out cows = more milk.

Telmo is showing Aida that this little computer tells you everything you want to know. The whole thing runs 24 hours a day, the cows can come and go whenever they want. Happy, chilled out cows = more milk.

That's Telmo's hand (let's face it, I don't know if I could bring myself to do that...). I didn't realize cows don't have upper teeth. Learn somethin new every day.

That’s Telmo’s hand (let’s face it, I don’t know if I could bring myself to do that…). I didn’t realize cows don’t have upper teeth. Learn somethin new every day.

Anyhoo. Even if you are not a farm hand, you gotta admit this is some serious technology!   I remember visiting my dad’s cousin’s farm a million years ago when it was still just a guy, a little stool, and a pail.

I dropped C off at the airport yesterday and he is safely in Texas now, where he will be for two weeks before meeting me in Philly. Another two weeks on my own in Corrales…except this time I have a job and two cats. Redecoration anyone?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

