Woops

Wow, I knew it had been a while since I had posted anything…but I didn’t realize it had been since MARCH. Good grief. That’s too long. I am constantly seeing things and experiencing things that I immediately think I have to write about, but then, well, life gets in the way. And my life for the last four months has been nothing short of crazy. In fact, I had to look back through all my pictures to remember exactly what I’ve been doing all this time. Well…not for everything, obviously.

The primary thing was the wedding. The U.S. based wedding, that is. The full Catholic mass wedding. Our beautiful, incredible, emotional, perfect-in-every-possible-way celebration. That we of course didn’t have our own cameras at, so although there are a plethora of pictures (particularly from our photographer, which have already made their way into a big album which is waiting for me at my parents house for my next visit to the states…ah, international living), I can only poach a couple from facebook to post here.

Shmoopy shot number 1.

Shmoopy shot number 1.

And shmoopy shot number 2. This is maybe even to the level of supershmoop. But I heart it.

And shmoopy shot number 2. This is maybe even to the level of supershmoop. But I heart it.

I won’t go into the nitty gritty details of the whole event, as it took place 3 months ago now, and we sufficiently rehashed every little piece with many of our friends and family. If I were to rattle off a few highlights though? They’d be:

  • The flowers. That sounds silly because, well, they are just flowers. But they were absolutely incredible. I should know, I stared at the ones in the Church for a good solid hour. While I was praying, of course, like the good Catholic girl that I am. And with your spirit.
  • The biggest surprise ever, which was a group of our family and friends from Spain, who had been secretly planning for months and months, showing up in NJ on Friday night. I have literally NEVER. BEEN. SO. SURPRISED. It was AWESOME.
  • My dad’s speech. It was funny, and graceful and poignant and perfect.
  • C’s speech. He paid tribute to his parents, to his roots, and acknowledged his families in Spain and in the US in a truly beautiful way. And he called me a “masterpiece.”
  • The fact that my WHOLE family made the trip. Very, very cool.
  • My sis sang “God Bless the Broken Road” and one of my dearest friends from high school and her husband – both incredibly talented musicians – pitched in to harmonize. Also awesome.

Every bride imagines her perfect day, and most of us spend months and months pouring over food and music and timing and the tiniest components that in the end no one – including us – even notices. But come the big day, you have to throw in the towel and let whatever happens happen. I had a few very wise people tell me the night before, whatever I do, to put my worries behind me, and to stop and look around and soak it all in as much as I could. And I did. And it was, for me, even better than I had imagined.

So that’s that. And now I’m an old married broad. Go figure.

As far as the rest of the last several months, I am going to try and pull apart those things that are particularly blog-worthy (although truth be told, I can barely wait to get to what’s happened even in the last week…talk about blog-worthy). And that I have pretty pictures of. And maybe I’ll be all caught up, like, eventually.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

