And then came May and June…

In May we were settling back in from all the excitement around the wedding, our trip to Tuscany, and we were both back to work right away (which is why our trip to Tuscany was like a mini-moon…). And in June, well, in June we were settling into the summer and getting ready for a very busy July (more to come on that).

Here are a few highlights.

I took more pictures of my cats. Snort. I take pictures of them like, oh, every day, so I gotta work them in  here somehow! Plus, for a short period of time, I changed a setting on my camera accidentally and the proportions of all my pictures were square. Odd. I've fixed it since then.

I took more pictures of my cats. Snort. I take pictures of them like, oh, every day, so I gotta work them in here somehow! Plus, for a short period of time, I changed a setting on my camera accidentally and the proportions of all my pictures were square. Odd. I’ve fixed it since then.

We harvested our first - of MANY  - strawberries. I'll have to write and entirely separate update about the garden.

We harvested our first – of MANY – strawberries. I’ll have to write and entirely separate update about the garden.

C debuted in full costume with his bagpipe group. He's still learning, but he's come a long way, baby.

C debuted in full costume with his bagpipe group. He’s still learning, but he’s come a long way, baby.

At the same festival, there was a guy making albarcas - I've mentioned them before (and we even gave out mini ones at our wedding) but I like this shot of them actually being made.

At the same festival, there was a guy making albarcas – I’ve mentioned them before (and we even gave out mini ones at our wedding) but I like this shot of them actually being made.

We took a little hike one day. Nothing crazy, but how gorgeous is this flower???

We took a little hike one day. Nothing crazy, but how gorgeous is this flower???

We also took an overnight trip to Vitoria. Vitoria is the capital of Basque Country and has a population slightly larger than Santander, about 235,000 people. It is a super cool city, great vibe, a wonderful mix of all kinds of people, and super artsy - there are these big, magnificent murals painted on building walls all over the city. I wish I had taken more pictures, they are pretty amazing and add something really special to the city.

We also took an overnight trip to Vitoria. Vitoria is the capital of Basque Country and has a population slightly larger than Santander, about 235,000 people. It is a super cool place, great vibe, a wonderful mix of all kinds of people, and super artsy – there are these big, magnificent murals painted on building walls all over the city. I wish I had taken more pictures, they are pretty amazing and add something really special to the city.

These are "typical" of Vitoria (or so they say...I never know if that's really true or not, but I feel like it's my responsibility to know the local pastries.) :-)

These are “typical” of Vitoria (or so they say…I never know if that’s really true or not, but I feel like it’s my responsibility to know the local pastries.) ­čÖé

Then we had a very fun day paragliding off the coast of Bilbao. The weather was perfect and the views were stunning. I had never been - and I LOVED it. I giggled and squealed the entire time - the guide told me afterwards he had only ever had one other woman who did that...ooops. But I couldn't stop. I was a wee bit nauseous for like three hours afterwards, but it was worth it.

Then we had a very fun day paragliding off the coast of Bilbao. The weather was perfect and the views were stunning. I had never been – and I LOVED it. I giggled and squealed the entire time – the guide told me afterwards he had only ever had one other woman who did that…ooops. But I couldn’t stop. I was a wee bit nauseous for like three hours afterwards, but it was worth it.

This was from my own flight up! I have videos too but I can't really watch them because they spin around in circles and make me feel sort of barfy.

This was from my own flight up! I have videos too but I can’t really watch them because they spin around in circles and make me feel sort of barfy.

Here's C getting ready for liftoff. You literally just sort of start walking and POOF you are in the air. FUN.

Here’s C getting ready for liftoff. You literally just sort of start walking and POOF you are in the air. FUN.

And FINALLY by the end of June we had our first Tuesday night picnic. (Notice we are bundled up still...it didn't really feel like summer here till July!) LOVE our picnics. Even if someone did steal the benches off the tables. So random.

And FINALLY by the end of June we had our first Tuesday night picnic. (Notice we are bundled up still…it didn’t really feel like summer here till July!) LOVE our picnics. Even if someone did steal the benches off the tables. So random.

And that’s that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

