Visitors, Sightseeing, and Chickens

Two days after returning from Ponferrada, my parents showed up.  The timing of their visit was based on the date of our July Spanish wedding celebration, so they were in town a few days before, and stayed a few days after. The day after my parents arrived, so did one of my best friends – and the day after that, a friend of C’s (those were our four US based representatives at the party here!). Like I said, July was a busy month.

I wish I had more pictures to share of our “wedding” here. I eeked one off of Facebook, but we we went to see them yesterday (they are GREAT) and hopefully I’ll have a link or at least some more pics to share soon. It was a really lovely celebration, nothing to do with the one in the states. It was very casual, C and his bagpipe group played, we involved our nieces and nephews, wrote some silly vows, had a traditional dance group come and dance around us, and then spent the rest of the night eating, drinking, and enjoying the company of everyone (we had about 100 people!).

Just before the vows that went something like this: "L, do you take C with his bagpipe, his tendency not to speak, his excessive love for churches, monasteries, castles....?" and "C, do you take Lynne, her cats, her tendency to break into Broadway song at any given time...?" You get the picture.

Just before the vows that went something like this: “L, do you take C with his bagpipe, his tendency not to speak, his excessive love for churches, monasteries, castles….?” and “C, do you take Lynne, her cats, her tendency to break into Broadway song at any given time…?” You get the picture.

And in the days before and after, we managed to show my parents a little more of Northern Spain. We hit Burgos, Los Picos, and San Sebastian, and they also had a chance to spend a little time in Bilbao. We ate well, drank well, introduced them to the ninnies (that’s what I call my cats), and had a lot of laughs.

Love this shot of them in Lost Picos. And if you even think that my mother got any closer to any sort of railing, you are wrong, wrong, wrong.

Love this shot of them in Lost Picos. And if you even think that my mother got any closer to any sort of railing, you are wrong, wrong, wrong.

This railing was at a much more digestible height. :-) Mountains one day, beach the next. I live in a pretty cool place.

This railing was at a much more digestible height. 🙂 Mountains one day, beach the next. I live in a pretty cool place.

We dropped my parents off in Bilbao but stuck around San Sebastian for another night. It was the very beginning of their annual Jazzfest and it just so happened that one of my favoritest people in the whole world was performing that night, free, on the beach.

Monstrously huge amounts of Jamie love I have. HUGE. Love.

Monstrously huge amounts of Jamie love I have. HUGE. Love.

I think I’ve mentioned before how much I love San Sebastian. There were LOADS of people in town for the festival, so it was a wee bit on the crowded side for me, but I love the food and the vibe and the location…lots of Jamie love and lots of San Sebastian love. A repeatable trip for sure.

SO. In the middle of all this, while my parents are visiting, C and I come home from the grocery store one day to find a surprise wedding gift in our backyard.

Making their big blog debut...drumroll please...allow me to introduce Beyonce and Shakira (yes, seriously).

Making their big blog debut…drumroll please…allow me to introduce Beyonce and Shakira (yes, seriously).

My parents were like Oh. My. God. Charles was like Holy. Crap. And I, well, all I could think is WTF are we going to do with CHICKENS???? At first I think we were both a little overwhelmed by the idea. But then by like day 3, when we had named them (snicker), we were like OH this is sort of FUN. We have chickens! Snort.

They are relatively easy to take care of…we feed them every other day, give them water, and move that cage around on the yard every couple days cause they tear the crap out of the grass. They poo a lot.  But we discovered chicken poo makes good fertilizer, it like totally revived our strawberry plants! And they don’t make a lot of noise, though I do hear a flurry of clucking occasionally. Otherwise, for the most part, they each lay one beautiful egg every day. Beyonce lays mack daddy eggs, the things are like an egg and a third. I keep trying to see them actually lay one because I understand they come out clear and whiten up with the air. C even set up his GoPro out there, but Beyonce got camera shy and protested by laying her egg on the other side. (See, even as I write this, I can’t believe I’m actually writing this.) I get a little giddy every day going out to look for eggs. And for the most part, when you take them out, they are even still WARM. Soooooooo cool.

See? The ninnies were even like WTF is in the yard. This kills me. LOL.

See? The ninnies were even like WHATTHEFUCK is in the yard. This kills me. LOL.

And, that brings us through the end of July. Almost caught up.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

